• Standards


    Common Core = Common Sense

    CCSS = Common Core State Standards

    What does it mean?


    ·        Promotes critical thinking and problem solving.

    ·        Curriculum is about learning, not just testing.

    ·        Students prove their work with discussions and/or writing.

    ·        Teacher is facilitator and students are actively engaged.

    ·        Collaboration is the central focus.  Class discussions, group work and partner talk are key components to learning. 

    ·        CORE = Community Of Respect Everywhere


    For more information: http://www.corestandards.org/what-parents-should-know/



    Comments (-1)
  • Schedule

    Kindergarten Schedule: 2015-2016

    M-F  Early  7:45-11:45

    M-F  Late  8:25-12:25

    ~Tentative/Subject to Change~ 


    7:45-8:25             Early Reading/Leveled Phonics/Small Group Instruction

    8:25                      Late Readers Arrive

    8:25-8:45             Opening Activities

                                 *Attendance, Flag Salute, Calendar, Agenda Review

    8:45-10:00             Language Arts     

                                  *Emergent Readers/Just-Right Book

                                  *Word Work/Handwriting/ABC letter review 

                                  *Shared Reading/Read-Alouds/Weekly Readers

                                  *Writer’s Workshop
                                  *Critical Literacy/Exploring Literature   

    10:00-10:20           Recess/Snack/Bathroom Break

    10:25-11:25           Math/Number Concepts/Problem Solving                

    11:25-11:45            Specialties

                                 *“Fun Friday” Centers/V.I.P. Activities

                                 *Closing Tasks: Organize/Interactive Journal Writing
    11:45                     Early Readers Dismissal
    11:45-12:25           Late Reading/Leveled Phonics/Small Group Instruction
    12:25                    Late Readers Dismissal




    Comments (-1)
Last Modified on June 12, 2015