Coordinated School Health Council

  • The San Juan Unified School District Coordinated School Health Council (CSHC) began in 2006. The CSHC goal is to enable San Juan Unified School District students to become healthy, successful students at school and contributing members in their communities. This approach features eight interrelated components: health education; physical education; school health services; school nutrition services; school counseling, psychological, and social services; a healthy school environment; school-site promotion of health for staff; and family and community involvement. The CSHC may consist of District staff, community representatives, students, and parents. The Council developed the District Wellness Policy BP5030 in 2006 in response to federal and state regulations and has spent the past two years revising the policy. The revised Wellness Policy is scheduled to be presented for board approval in August, 2016. The CSHC continues to meet to share information about student health and resources.

    Membership is open to students, parents, staff, and community members. Specifically, the Council is seeking elementary, middle, and high school principals, physical education teachers, students, and parents to join the CSHC. If you are interested, please contact Teri Hofstetter via email or 971-7026.


  • Jenny Amador, Program Specialist, Health Services, Chair

    Dominic Covello, Director Student Support Services, Co-Chair

    Paula Villescaz, SJUSD Board Member

    Dayle Cantrall, Program Manager, Special Education, Planning Team

    Lisa Hashisaka, Registered Dietitian, Nutrition Services, Planning Team

    Nina Mancina, Program Specialist, Special Projects, Planning Team

    Amy Northam, Director, Risk Management/Benefits/Payroll, Planning Team

    Christina Sparks, Supervisor, Prevention Programs, Planning Team

    Monique Stovall, Director, Nutrition Services, Planning Team

    Dan Allison, Safety Specialist, La Entrada

    Bonita Aytch, Coordinator, Family Engagement

    Elyse Chadwick, Parent, Mary Deterding Elementary

    Linn Cruickshank, Psychologist, Psychological Services

    Ardath Ferris, School Community Worker, McKinney-Vento

    Terry Gerber, Mental Health Therapist, Special Education

    Brian Goetsch, Psychologist, Psychological Services

    Ian Goodman, Psychologist, Psychological Services

    Naomi Harper, Teacher, Will Rogers Middle School

    Reverend Earl Heverly, Pastor, Cornerstone Community Church

    Teri Hofstetter, Administrative Assistant, Nutrition Services

    Robin Hoppe, ECE Lead Teacher, Early Childhood Education

    Tracy Kerth, Recreation Services Manager, Carmichael Recreation & Park District

    Stephanie Landrum, Kaiser Permanente

    Mary Lou Larson, School Nurse, Health Services

    Maria Mahon, School Community Prevention Specialist, Pupil Personnel Services

    Rhoda Mantell, School Nurse, Health Services

    Evelyn Margolin, Teacher, Cameron Ranch Elementary

    Stephanie Marshall, Psychologist, Psychological Services

    Gina Mertz, Coordinating Mental Health Therapist, White House Counseling

    Nina Nazimowitz, Mental Health Therapist, Special Education

    James O’Gara, Executive Account Manager, Kaiser Permanente

    Anita Ruiz, Healthy Schools Program Manager, Alliance for a Healthier Generation

    Carol Serre, Community Benefit Manager, Kaiser Permanente

    Amy Vahle, Parent, Del Dayo Elementary

    Willie Wilson, Elementary P.E. Specialist, Teaching & Learning

    Sharon Goldman, School Nurse, Health Services
    Audrey Edwards, School Nurse, Learning Support Center
    Theodora Wilner, Wellness Advisor and Certified Health Coach
    Sam Zarek, Community Member


2015-16 Minutes

2015-16 Agendas

2014-15 Minutes

2014-15 Agendas

2013-14 Minutes

2013-14 Agenda

2012-13 Minutes

2012-13 Agenda


  • 2016-2017 

Last Modified on May 24, 2017