• UPDATE: Prior Written Notice--10.29.20

    Family Check-In Meetings

    Special Education to host monthly Virtual Discussion between Families, Administration, and Staff

    Thank you to everyone who joined us for our October Family Check-In Meetings.  Our morning meeting takes place on the last Thursday of each month from 9-10a, and the evening meeting is the last Monday of each month from 6-7p.  Please click on the corresponding days on the calendar on the right-hand side of this page for the Zoom links. Just a reminder effective August 28, 2020, meetings with students requires authentication. Students (and families) who used Zoom last year have until the 28th to be sure that they “switch” to our San Juan Zoom license so that they will not be locked out of the Zoom live sessions. Support for teachers to turn on authentication for meetings with students on or after August 28 and support for learners and families to switch to the San Juan Zoom license is included in the Distance Learning Hub and also on the "Using Zoom for Live Interactions" and “Zoom Settings” documents. Thank you and we look forward to seeing everyone at our next meeting!

    **UPDATE**

    November's Meetings will take place on Thursday, November 19th from 9a-10a and November 30th from 6p-7p due to the school recess.  Thank you!

     

    Join Zoom Meeting
    https://sanjuan.zoom.us/j/81429033818?pwd=Z0xlQmNQQ3Exekd1eE04dVJWWFVCUT09

    Meeting ID: 814 2903 3818
    Passcode: 691128

     

     

    Special Education Department


     

    The San Juan Unified School District is a single-district Special Education Local Plan Area (SELPA). As such, we write and implement our own local plan and we are responsible for our own policies, procedures, and programs. We serve over 4,700 students in a variety of programs from infancy through age twenty-two. We employ over 280 special education teachers and specialists and over 290 instructional assistants and classified staff. Special education programs and services are provided at each of our 80 schools in the District.

    San Juan provides a rich professional learning environment. We invest in training teachers and building teams of experts. Our approach has been to cultivate experts and implement model programs.

    San Juan teaching staff have access to all training and materials available to any other teacher at any site. Special education teachers are included and valued as members of the teaching/learning community. For specialized teachers and students, San Juan maintains a rich Instructional Media Center - a library of special education materials reserved for special education staff. Materials are reviewed, selected, and purchased by teacher committees.

    San Juan school principals receive training in special education. In addition, the District employs 9 program specialists, two program administrators, three assistant directors, and one special education director to coordinate the program. Our District and our staff are truly collaborative.

    San Juan maintains traditional Special Day Class and Resource Specialist programs. In addition, San Juan has cultivated preschool centers, inclusion sites, and specialized cluster programs to serve students with low incidence disabilities.

    Our Human Resources department works with applicants to resolve questions concerning out of state credentials, NCLB compliance, and intern credentials. Our work year, salary and benefits are all comparable. 

  • Department Contact Information

    Special Education Field Office

    4825 Kenneth Avenue

    Carmichael, CA 95608

    Phone: (916) 971-7525

     
     Vanessa Adolphson; Director
     vadolphson@sanjuan.edu
     
    Adara Gunn; Admin. Asst.
    916-971-7953
     
    Megan Hudson; Assistant Director
    megan.hudson@sanjuan.edu
      
    Stacy Ahrens; Interim Assistant Director
    sahrens@sanjuan.edu
      
    Joann Day; Interim Assistant Director/Program Administrator
    joann.day@sanjuan.edu
    Ralph Richardson Center
    Haley Balbi; Secretary
       
    Program Specialists
     
    Eric Anderson:  Supports Pasadena, Coyle Ave., Mariposa, Howe Ave., Schweitzer, Grand Oaks, Cambridge Heights, Churchill, Gold River, and Del Paso Manor
    eric.anderson@sanjuan.edu
     
    Konstantina Caster: Supports Sierra Oaks, Rio Americano, Del Campo, Charles Peck, Oakview, and Edison
    konstantina.caster@sanjuan.edu
     
    Laura Davis: Supports Arlington Heights, Barrett, Legette, Skycrest, Trajan, Carmichael, Del Dayo, and Pershing
    ladavis@sanjuan.edu
     
    Lynne Koerner: Supports Carnegie, Greek Oaks, Pasteur, Casa Roble, and Orangevale Open
    LKoerner@sanjuan.edu
     
    Wendy Lane: Supports Encina, Mariemont, Cameron Ranch, Dewey, Greer, Lichen, Bella Vista, Thomas Kelly, and Whitney
    wlane@sanjuan.edu
     
    Jessica Lauder: Supports SELPA Charter Schools
    jessica.lauder@sanjuan.edu
     
    Jennifer Nelson: Supports all preschool programs, Dyer Kelly, Cowan, and Starr King
    jennifer.nelson@sanjuan.edu
     
    Kim Patalingjug: Supports Carriage, Mission, Northridge, Deterding, Kingswood, Will Rogers, El Camino, Woodside, and Arcade
    kim.patalingjug@sanjuan.edu
     
    Melvin Yee: Supports Sylvan, Mesa Verde, San Juan, Mira Loma, Cottage, Twin Lakes, and Arden
    melvin.yee@sanjuan.edu
     
    Program Administrators
    Dayle Cantrall; Program Administrator
    dcantrall@sanjuan.edu
    Laurel Ruff Center
    LeAnn Thiele; Secretary
     
    Sunny Lofton; Program Administrator
    sunny.lofton@sanjuan.edu
    La Vista Center
    Conny Nelson; Secretary
     
    For Special Education records, please send requests to:
    Phone: (916)971-7525; Option 2
    Email: spedsjc@sanjuan.edu
    Records Fax: (916) 979-8580

     

Special Education Overview (English)

Spanish

Russian

Ukrainian

Arabic

Farsi

Last Modified on Monday at 10:46 AM