• UPDATE: Prior Written Notice--10.29.20

    Family Check-In Meetings

    Special Education to host monthly Virtual Discussion between Families, Administration, and Staff

    Thank you to everyone who joined us for our February Family Check-In Meetings.  This month, our department is pairing up with the Local Accountability and Planning (LCAP) Department to host a Stakeholder Community Engagement Activity.  Please join us either on Monday, March 22nd from 6p-6:30p or Thursday, March 25th from 9a-9:30a.  We look forward to seeing you there!

    Join Zoom Meeting
     
    Meeting ID: 814 2903 3818
    Passcode: 691128 

     

    Special Education Department


     

    The San Juan Unified School District is a single-district Special Education Local Plan Area (SELPA). As such, we write and implement our own local plan and we are responsible for our own policies, procedures, and programs. We serve over 4,700 students in a variety of programs from infancy through age twenty-two. We employ over 280 special education teachers and specialists and over 290 instructional assistants and classified staff. Special education programs and services are provided at each of our 80 schools in the District.

    San Juan provides a rich professional learning environment. We invest in training teachers and building teams of experts. Our approach has been to cultivate experts and implement model programs.

    San Juan teaching staff have access to all training and materials available to any other teacher at any site. Special education teachers are included and valued as members of the teaching/learning community. For specialized teachers and students, San Juan maintains a rich Instructional Media Center - a library of special education materials reserved for special education staff. Materials are reviewed, selected, and purchased by teacher committees.

    San Juan school principals receive training in special education. In addition, the District employs 9 program specialists, two program administrators, three assistant directors, and one special education director to coordinate the program. Our District and our staff are truly collaborative.

    San Juan maintains traditional Special Day Class and Resource Specialist programs. In addition, San Juan has cultivated preschool centers, inclusion sites, and specialized cluster programs to serve students with low-incidence disabilities.

    Our Human Resources department works with applicants to resolve questions concerning out of state credentials, NCLB compliance, and intern credentials. Our work year, salary and benefits are all comparable. 

  • Department Contact Information

    Special Education Field Office

    4825 Kenneth Avenue

    Carmichael, CA 95608

    Phone: (916) 971-7525

     
     Vanessa Adolphson; Director
     vadolphson@sanjuan.edu
     
    Adara Gunn; Admin. Asst.
    916-971-7953
     
    Jessica Lauder; Assistant Director
    jlauder@sanjuan.edu
      
    Stacy Ahrens; Interim Assistant Director
    sahrens@sanjuan.edu
      
    Joann Day; Interim Assistant Director/Program Administrator
    joann.day@sanjuan.edu
    Ralph Richardson Center
    Haley Balbi; Secretary
       
    Program Specialists
     
    Eric Anderson:  Supports Coyle Ave., Howe Ave., Schweitzer, Cambridge Heights, Churchill, Gold River, and Del Paso Manor
    eric.anderson@sanjuan.edu
     
    Konstantina Caster: Supports Sierra Oaks, Rio Americano, Del Campo, Charles Peck, Oakview, and Edison
    konstantina.caster@sanjuan.edu
     
    Laura Davis: Supports Arlington Heights, Barrett, Legette, Skycrest, Trajan, Carmichael, Del Dayo, and Pershing
    ladavis@sanjuan.edu
     
    Lynne Koerner: Supports Carnegie, Greek Oaks, Pasteur, Casa Roble, Ottoman, Non-Public Schools, and Orangevale Open
    LKoerner@sanjuan.edu
     
    Wendy Rodriguez: Supports Encina, Mariemont, Cameron Ranch, Dewey, Greer, Bella Vista, Thomas Kelly, and Whitney
    wlane@sanjuan.edu
     
    Kamari Guinn: Supports, Cowan, Mission, Deterding, Kingswood, Lichen, Arcade, Grand Oaks, Mariposa, and San Juan High School
    kamari.guinn@sanjuan.edu
     
     
    Jennifer Nelson: Supports all preschool programs, Dyer Kelly and Starr King
    jennifer.nelson@sanjuan.edu
     
    Kim Patalingjug: Supports Carriage, El Camino, and Non-Public Schools
    kim.patalingjug@sanjuan.edu
     
    Melvin Yee: Supports Sylvan, Mesa Verde, Mira Loma, Cottage, Twin Lakes, Woodside, and Arden
    melvin.yee@sanjuan.edu
     
    Program Administrators
    Dayle Cantrall; Program Administrator
    dcantrall@sanjuan.edu
    Laurel Ruff Center
    LeAnn Thiele; Secretary
     
    Sunny Lofton; Program Administrator
    sunny.lofton@sanjuan.edu
    La Vista Center
    Conny Nelson; Secretary
     
    For Special Education records, please send requests to:
    Phone: (916)971-7525; Option 2
    Email: spedsjc@sanjuan.edu
    Records Fax: (916) 979-8580

     

Special Education Overview (English)

Spanish

Russian

Ukrainian

Arabic

Farsi

Last Modified on Monday at 7:40 AM