Skip To Main Content

Logo Image

Logo Title

11th annual Spirit of San Juan Awards recognizes six outstanding honoree

11th annual Spirit of San Juan Awards recognizes six outstanding honoree

San Juan Unified School District rolled out the red carpet at Rio Americano High School’s Center for the Arts on May 9 for the 11th annual Spirit of San Juan Awards. During the ceremony, six honorees were recognized for exhibiting exceptional character, removing barriers and providing an inclusive environment for all.

The evening began with melodies from Rio Americano students, Lila and Jane Cesar, who serenaded reception attendees with violin duets. The Casa Roble Fundamental High School floral program provided beautiful centerpieces that decorated the reception tables. 

Good Day Sacramento anchor and San Juan Unified alum Tina Macuha emceed the event. Each honoree was celebrated with their own video highlighting their amazing work, before being presented with an award by Board of Education President Pam Costa and Board Clerk Ben Avey.

Photos from the event can be found on the district’s Facebook page. A special thanks to our sponsors, Kaiser Permanente and SMUD.

You can learn more about the 2024 Spirit of San Juan Awards honorees by watching their inspiring highlight videos below.

Robert Anderson

Teacher, Mary Deterding Elementary School

Anderson has dedicated 30 years of his career to teaching young learners how to fall in love with school. As a kindergarten teacher, Anderson welcomes all students and families with his contagious energy and teaching style. 

Nancy Carter

Volunteer, Mission Avenue Open Elementary School

Carter has an unwavering dedication and commitment to students. After teaching for over 25 years, she returned as a volunteer to continue investing in the lives of students by tutoring them in math. 

Julia Clauson

Student, Bella Vista High School

Clauson advocates to ensure student voices are heard. She is a member of the Superintendent’s Student Advisory Council, the president of Bella Vista’s writing club and a representative of her school’s equity team. This year, Clauson spearheaded a district-wide literary magazine and was appointed to the California State Board of Education for a one-year term. 

Ethan “E Train” Minton

Student, Winston Churchill Middle School

Minton is an award-winning literacy advocate, podcast host and reading ambassador. At a young age, he has gone above and beyond to organize book donations, author visits and has volunteered his time by reading books to kindergarteners within San Juan Unified.

DaeChole Reed-Herbert

Student, Lichen K-8

Reed-Herbert is a leader among her peers. She founded the Black and Brown Students Club at Lichen K-8 while also being a Student Senate member. Reed-Herbert fosters an inclusive environment for both students and staff by promoting a positive school environment. 

Greta Scholtes

Principal, Encina Preparatory High School

Scholtes is a leader and advocate for equity. Her commitment to Encina Preparatory High School can be seen through her dedication to students and families alike. She finds ways to create listening opportunities and feedback sessions to help increase access for all students.