•  

     

    Family Check-In Meetings

    Special Education to host monthly Virtual Discussion between Families, Administration, and Staff


    Thank you to everyone who joined us for our Family Check-In Meetings in August.  Our next meeting will be Monday, September 27th from 6p-6:30p followed by our morning offering on Thursday, September 30th from 9a-9:30a.  We look forward to seeing you there!

     
     

    Special Education Department


     

    The San Juan Unified School District is a single-district Special Education Local Plan Area (SELPA). As such, we write and implement our own local plan and we are responsible for our own policies, procedures, and programs. We serve over 4,700 students in a variety of programs from infancy through age twenty-two. We employ over 280 special education teachers and specialists and over 290 instructional assistants and classified staff. Special education programs and services are provided at each of our 80 schools in the District.

    San Juan provides a rich professional learning environment. We invest in training teachers and building teams of experts. Our approach has been to cultivate experts and implement model programs.

    San Juan teaching staff have access to all training and materials available to any other teacher at any site. Special education teachers are included and valued as members of the teaching/learning community. For specialized teachers and students, San Juan maintains a rich Instructional Media Center - a library of special education materials reserved for special education staff. Materials are reviewed, selected, and purchased by teacher committees.

    San Juan school principals receive training in special education. In addition, the District employs 9 program specialists, two program administrators, three assistant directors, and one special education director to coordinate the program. Our District and our staff are truly collaborative.

    San Juan maintains traditional Special Day Class and Resource Specialist programs. In addition, San Juan has cultivated preschool centers, inclusion sites, and specialized cluster programs to serve students with low-incidence disabilities.

    Our Human Resources department works with applicants to resolve questions concerning out-of-state credentials, NCLB compliance, and intern credentials. Our work year, salary and benefits are all comparable. 

Communication Flow Chart
  • Department Contact Information

    Special Education Field Office

    4825 Kenneth Avenue

    Carmichael, CA 95608

    Phone: (916) 971-7525

     
    vadolphson@sanjuan.edu
     Vanessa Vazquez; Admin. Asst. 
    (916)971-7149
     
    Jessica Lauder; Assistant Director
    jlauder@sanjuan.edu
      
    Robert Morgan; Assistant Director/ Program Administrator
    robert.morgan@sanjuan.edu
    Ralph Richardson Center
    Brian Smith; Secretary
      
    Shakira Durham; Assistant Director
    shakira.durham@sanjuan.edu
     
       
    Program Specialists
     
    Eric Anderson:  Supports Cambridge Heights, Coyle, Grand Oaks, Howe, Northridge, San Juan High, Whitney, Churchill, and Woodside
    eric.anderson@sanjuan.edu
     
    Genesis Bell: Supports Mira Loma, Sierra Oaks, Charles Peck, Cameron Ranch, Dewey, Thomas Kelly, Del Paso Manor, and Pasadena
    genesis.bell@sanjuan.edu
     
    Kerri Asbury: Supports Bella Vista, Green Oaks, Twin Lakes, Pershing, Trajan, Carmichael, and LeGette
    kerri.ashbury@sanjuan.edu
     
    Mayleen Malone: Supports Sylvan, Mesa Verde, Greer, Encina, Katherine Johnson, and Cottage
    mayleen.malone@sanjuan.edu
     
    Stacy Ahrens: Supports Rio, Arden, Arcade, El Camino, Starr King, Gold River, Del Dayo, and NPS
    sahrens@sanjuan.edu
     
    Kamari Guinn: Supports Cowan, Mission, Deterding, Kingswood, Lichen, Mariposa, Schweitzer, Barrett, and Edison
    kamari.guinn@sanjuan.edu
     
     
    Jennifer Nelson: Supports all preschool programs, Dyer Kelly and Arlington
    jennifer.nelson@sanjuan.edu
     
    Kim Patalingjug: Supports Carriage, Mariemont, Will Rogers, Skycrest, and Del Campo
    kim.patalingjug@sanjuan.edu
     
    Lynne Koerner: Supports Carnegie, Pasteur, Casa Roble, Orangevale Open, Ottoman, Oakview, and NPS
    lkoerner@sanjuan.edu
     
    Program Administrators
    Dayle Cantrall; Program Administrator
    dcantrall@sanjuan.edu
    Laurel Ruff Center
    LeAnn Thiele; Secretary
     
    Sunny Lofton; Program Administrator
    sunny.lofton@sanjuan.edu
    La Vista Center
    Conny Nelson; Secretary
     
    For Special Education records, please send requests to Bianca Godina
    Phone: (916)971-7525

     

  • Our district has just increased the starting wage for instructional assistants!

    We encourage those interested to APPLY NOW!

Special Education Overview (English)

Spanish

Russian

Ukrainian

Arabic

Farsi

Last Modified on Thursday at 12:07 PM