Return to Headlines

New immunization requirements to go into effect July 1, 2019

Student receiving immunization New immunization requirements for students enrolling or transferring into a new school will go into effect July 1, 2019. Here is a quick overview of the changes:

  • All students enrolling or transferring into a new school are required to have 4 polio, 5 DTaP, 3 Hep B, 2 MMR and 2 Varicella vaccines as conditions for enrollment.
  • All advancing 7th graders will be required to have 1 Tdap and 2 Varicella vaccines.
  • Students enrolling or transferring to new schools in grades 7-12 will be required to have 1 Tdap vaccine.

As such, enrolling, transferring or advancing students will be required to provide proof of the required vaccinations before they will be able to start school in August 2019, or remain in school anytime thereafter. Students can be admitted conditionally if their records indicate that they are in the process of getting the vaccinations and following the missing dose schedules. 

Although the law does not allow for personal belief exemptions, it does allow for medical and homeschooling/independent study exemptions. The medical exemption can only be obtained from a licensed medical doctor (M.D.) or a doctor of osteopathic medicine (D.O.). 

Students who do not provide proof of meeting vaccination requirements by enrollment for the 2019-2020 school year will not be allowed to attend school until proof is provided.

For information about low-cost options for obtaining needed vaccinations, including at the San Juan Central Immunization Clinic, visit For questions, please call (916) 971-7643.